As most of you already know, we released the SkystreamTV Updater application earlier this year. The SkystreamTV Updater has been a huge success and has helped keep all of our customers up to date with Kodi. Recently we added a changelog to the updater so that our users would know what was actually going to be updated in the latest version. This step was a huge help in that users could make a decision as to whether or not they wanted to run a fresh install or skip the update. Over the last few months we received lots of feedback about the SkystreamTV updater app. Most of it was positive, but one thing we kept on hearing was “Everytime I run the updater I have to reinstall Real Debrid, Trakt, Addons I installed on my own.” So we hunkered down in the lab to see if we could make the updater update Kodi while leaving the users personalization in Kodi. While it seems like something that would be simple, it actually turned out to be quite a project. We won’t bore you with the boring coding that needed to be done or how the file structure of Kodi and the addon folders made it difficult. Long story short, we got it done and have released it an an automatic update when you open the updater. If you do not have the SkystreamTV Updater or if it does not auto update when you open it, we have provided instructions at the bottom of this article. Here is a screen shot of the change log that we recently added to the updater. This is the screen that you will see after you have selected either the Family Friendly or Adult Version.   Fresh Install – Clicking on Fresh Install WILL completely wipe any personalization you have added to Kodi. This includes Real Debrid accounts, Trakt accounts, favorites within Kodi, favorites within addons, additional addons that you have installed, and background images you have added. ONLY click on Fresh Install if you wish to completely wipe Kodi and end up with a clean installation. All personalization will need to be reinstalled by the end user. Save User Settings – Save User Settings – Clicking on Save User Settings will update everything in Kodi the same way Fresh Install does, but will save most personalization that the end user has installed. Save User Settings will keep Real Debrid accounts, Trakt accounts, favorites within Kodi, favorites within addons, additional addons that you have installed, and background images you have added. This is the best option for users who have added personalization to their Kodi. We are very excited that our users will no longer have to reinstall most personalization within Kodi after running the SkystreamTV Updater. We are always looking at ways to improve our customers experience and we feel that this is going to make Kodi much easier and effortless for many users. SkystreamTV Updater instructions 1. Open your Web Browser App. That is…

Read more